Steps To Delete History And ENCRYPT Android Phone

0
1
Delete history and encrypt android phone
0 Shares

Have you ever considered clearing your browsing information of all the browsers in your phone for the sake of security or privacy, but don’t know how? Let us guide you through these easy steps to deleting all your browsing history from all of the browsers that are available in your phone.

Just like a computer’s web browser, your Android device’s browser will keep a list of all the websites that you visit. This can make returning to important websites easier, but can also cause embarrassing or potentially dangerous situations.

If you’re worried about someone looking at your history or you are planning on selling or donating your Android device, see the following steps in deleting data from your browsing history.

Clearing the Browsing History of the phone’s default browser

In order to clear the entire browsing history of your phone’s browser, follow the directions below:

Delete browsing history on android phones 2

1).Open the Internet browser. If you are using Android 4.0 or earlier, your browser is simply named “Internet”. You will need to clear the browsing history through the app’s settings.

2). Tap the Menu button. Either press your device’s Menu button or tap the browser’s menu button in the upper-right corner.

3). Tap Settings. This will open a new window with your browser’s settings.

Delete browsing history on android phones

4). Tap Privacy. You may need to scroll down to find this option. Tap it to open your privacy management options.

5). Tap “Clear History”: This will delete all of the stored locations that you have visited. If you want to remove cookies as well, tap the “Clear all cookie data” button.

Android Oreo

Clearing Google Chrome

In order to clear the entire browsing history of your Google Chrome browser, follow the directions below:

1). Open the Chrome browser: Like the stock browser, Chrome browsing history needs to be deleted from within the browser itself.

2). Tap the Menu button: This is located in the upper-right corner of the browser and looks like three boxes stacked vertically.

3). Tap Settings: This will take you to a new screen with your Google Chrome settings.

4). Tap Privacy: This is located in the advanced section of the Settings page.

Delete browsing history on android phones 3

5). Tap “Clear Browsing Data”: This button is located at the bottom of the menu if you’re on a phone or the top-right corner of the screen if you’re on a tablet.

6). Check the “Clear browsing history” box: This will delete all of your browsing history for Chrome. Tap the Clear button to continue.

Clearing Mozilla Firefox

In order to clear the entire browsing history of your phone’s browser, follow the directions below:

1). Open the Firefox browser: Like the stock browser, Firefox browsing history needs to be deleted from within the browser itself.

2). Tap the Menu button: This is located in the upper-right corner of the browser and looks like three boxes stacked vertically.

Delete browsing history on android phones 4

3). Tap Settings: This will take you to a new screen with your Firefox settings.

4). Tap Privacy: This will open a new screen with your privacy management options.

5). Tap “Clear private data”: This will open a checklist of all the different types of items that can be deleted. Ensure that “Browsing & download history” is checked. You can also use this to clear a variety of data types.

6).Tap “Clear data” once you have made your selections.

Delete browsing history on android phones 5

Wiping Your Entire Android Phone

1.) To wipe off the data or information in your phone, follow the clues below:
Backup any data you want to save. If you’re selling or giving away your phone, you’ll want to wipe it before doing so.

This will prevent any personal information from falling into the wrong hands. Wiping your phone will delete all of the data on it, so make sure your contacts, media, and any other important data are backed up to another location or new device.

2). Encrypt your Android phone: Much like computers, a wiped Android hard drive is not actually completely erased, only set to be overwritten. This means that someone with enough time and the right software may be able to retrieve your data.

To avoid this potential security risk, encrypt your phone before erasing everything. Furthermore, it will prevent anyone from being able to access your data, even if it recovered with data recovery software.

3). Charge your phone completely: The encryption process takes a while and you will need to have a full battery and your phone will need to be connected to a power source.

How to encrypt your Android Phone.

To encrypt your android phone, follow the steps as outlined below:

  • Open the Android Settings menu by tapping the Settings app on your Home screen or App Drawer.
  • Tap the Security section: Scroll down and select “Encrypt phone”.
  • Create a PIN that you will use to access your encrypted phone.
  • Wait for the encryption process to complete. This can take over an hour, and interrupting the process can corrupt your phone.
  • Reset the phone by returning to the Settings menu and select the “Backup & reset” option.
  • Tap the “Factory data reset” option. You will be asked to confirm, and then asked to enter your encryption PIN. Afterwards, the phone will begin the reset process, which may take a few minutes.
  • Once the phone has finished resetting, all of the data will be erased and the phone will act like it was turned on for the first time. It is now safe to sell or give away.
encrypt your android phone

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here